The President of the United Republic of Tanzania, H.E. Samia Suluhu Hassan has appointed nine Directors for UONGOZI Institute’s Board, effective 13 May 2021. Dr. Stergomena Lawrence Tax, Executive Secretary of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), has been appointed as Chairperson of the Board; and Dr. Laurean Ndumbaro, Permanent Secretary of the President’s Office – Public Service Management and Good Governance, as Vice-Chairperson of the Board.

Other appointed Directors include H.E. Riitta Swan, Ambassador of Finland in Tanzania; Prof. Penina Mlama, Professor at the University of Dar es Salaam; Ms. Iina Soiri, Senior Specialist at the Embassy of Finland in Pretoria, South Africa; Mr. David Walker, former Director of the European School of Administration, Belgium; Ms. Susan Mlawi, former Permanent Secretary; Dr. Hamisi Mwinyimvua, former Permanent Secretary; and Prof. Samuel Wangwe, Principal Research Associate for ESRF and REPOA.

This diverse Board of Directors brings together outstanding skills to guide our Institute. The Directors are well-experienced in the aspects of sustainable development, public policy and administration, education, economics and finance, as well as international relations. We are extremely pleased to welcome them on board.