Former Board Directors

Former Board Directors

These outstanding individuals, also from diverse backgrounds, have played and continue to play an essential role in the Institute’s growth.  

Amb. Ritva Koukku-Ronde

Chaiperson (2011)

Finnish Ambassador

Amb. Anne Sipiläinen

Chairperson (2011 – 2015)

Finnish Ambassador

Amb. Kari Alanko

Chairperson (2015 – 2018)

Finnish Ambassador 

Amb. Kristiina Kuvaja-Xanthopoulos

Chairperson (2018 – 2020)

Finnish Ambassador

Hon. Stergomena Lawrence Tax

Chairperson (2021), Director (2017 – 2021)

Minister for Foreign Affairs in the United Republic of Tanzania; Former Executive Secretary of the Southern African Development Community (SADC)

Prof. Idris Kikula

Vice Chairperson (2018 – 2020), Director (2011 – 2018)

Chairman of the Tanzania Mining Commission; Former Vice Chancellor of the University of Dodoma

Mr. Philemon Luhanjo

Director (2011 – 2016)

Former Chief Secretary of the President of the United Republic of Tanzania

Amb. John Haule

Director (2011 – 2016)

Former High Commissioner of Tanzania to Kenya, South Sudan, Sychelles, Somalia, Eritrea, UNEP and UN-Habitat

Amb. Elsie Kanza

Director (2011 – 2016)

Ambassador of Tanzania to the United States of America; Former Special Advisor to the President of the World Economic Forum

Dr. Christina Duarte

Director (2017 – 2020)

Under-Secretary-General and Special Advisor on Africa to the United Nations Secretary General; Former Minister of Finance and Planning in the Republic of Cabo Verde

Prof. Glenn Denning

Director (2011 – 2016)

Professor of Professional Practice at Columbia University’s School of International and Public Affairs 

Dr. Frannie Léautier

Director (2011 – 2016)

Senior Partner and CEO of SouthBridge Investments; Former Vice President of World Bank Institute

Ms. Hadeel Ibrahim

Director (2011 – 2014)

Founding Executive Director of the Mo Ibrahim Foundation

Ms. Anneli Temmes

Director (2011 – 2016)

Emerita Director General of Finnish Institute of Public Management (HAUS)

Prof. Joseph Semboja

Ex Officio Member (2011 – 2020)

Former CEO of UONGOZI Institute